Media Contact:  Judy Gower  724-853-7223,   jdgocar@aol.com

November 11, 2005




PITTSBURGH, PA (November 11, 2005) – Five new champions were honored as Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway hosted its 17th Annual Awards Banquet Friday, November 11 at the Bradley House in Baldwin.  Awards and point fund money were presented to the first-time track champions as well as the top ten point finishers in the Napa Late Models, Advance Auto Parts Limited Late Models, E-Modifieds, Isiminger’s Pennzoil Pure Stocks, and the Amateur Stocks.  The special Miley Motorsports tradition continued with the presentation of the beautiful custom designed black onyx champions rings to Late Model Champion John Flinner (Zelienople), Limited Late Model Champion Jesse Burroughs, (Robinson Township), E-modified Champ Dennis Niederriter (McDonald), Pure Stock Champion Craig Kamicker (Hopewell), and Amateur Stock Champion Robby Torrens (Kennedy Township).   Terry Wilcher of Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic presented each titleholder with monogrammed Hoosier Tire Champion’s jackets. 


Following the top ten awards, special recognition was paid to ten drivers who collected their career first victories at Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway during the 2005 racing season.  Brandon Burgoon and Tommy Schirnhofer scored impressive career first wins in the Limited Late Models while Dennis Niederriter, Mike Basich, Kari Gasser, and Kevin Miller were first time winners in the hotly contested E-Modified division.  Nick Kocuba captured his first ever win in the Pure Stocks, and Amateur Stock career firsts were earned by  Bill Tennant, Eric Goldberg and Wes Wheeler.


The ongoing weekly Monarch Oil Hard Charger contingency program at Pittsburgh saw Hard Charger of the Year Awards go to Scott Gunn in the Late Models, Jim Stephans in the Limited Late Models, Wayne Tessean, E-Modifieds, Craig Kamicker in the Pure Stocks, and Robby Torrens earned the honors in the Amateur Stocks.


Rookie of the Year honors went to Danny Rich in the Napa Late Models, while Ray Brown captured the title in the Limited Late Models.  The E-Modified Rookie of the Year was Kevin Miller, and Tim Folmer earned the Rookie of the Year title in the Pure Stocks. 


The 17th annual Sportsman of the Year Award was presented to George Tomei for his unwavering sportsman-like conduct at the track, and for his unselfish efforts year after year to help the  so-called little guys in racing.    Tomei was also instrumental in getting the very first “Young Gun Teen Division” racecar of Kennedy Township teenager Richie Mason completed and to the racetrack for a fan preview on the final evening of the regular 2005 racing season.  The Young Gun Teen Division will debut in 2006 as an entry level four-cylinder division for teens between the ages of 13 and 19.


 Work continues on the many improvements being made at the Speedway, and efforts are ongoing to complete the 2006 racing schedule.  Information on the upcoming season will be posted on the track’s website at www.ppms.com  as it becomes finalized.