Media Contact:  Judy Gower  724-853-7223,  jdgocar@aol.com

Story content provided by John Stasiak

April 23, 2006



PITTSBURGH, PA (April 22, 2006) - St. Clairsville OH’s Mark Banal drove to his 40th career PPMS win in the Late Models. Banal, who started in the 9th position, overcame early leads by Brandon Burgoon and Lynn Geisler to take the lead on lap 13, and win by a straightaway. Off and on evening showers left the fast ½ mile in top shape, and Banal’s black #T8 took full advantage to blister the field, and lap up to 7th place. Geisler ran a solid second, but was never close after Banal took the lead. Michael Davis had a career best third place finish followed by Scott Gunn, Mike Johnson, 17th starting Jared Miley, Tim Gould, newcomer John Mollick, Dave Wade, and Ben Miley. Brandon Burgoon, last years W.PA Rookie of the year was running a strong third, when he pulled off on lap 19. Jared Miley had motor problems in hot laps, went home and got his backup car and got back in time to start scratch in the feature. The heats saw Lou Bradich and Banal take the wins.


“Pittsburgh Pete” Loria, after racing very sporadically the past two seasons, returned with a vengeance to pick up his first win of the 2006 season in the Advance Auto Parts Crate Late Models. In a race that saw two rain delays, Loria took the lead after a battle with Pete Rech. Last week’s winner, Mike Cecere came from 12th to finish second followed by Kirk Young, hard charger Ray Brown, and Laura Lukon. Rounding out the top ten were John Cain III, Bryan Hoffman, Nick Duratz, Larry Marks, and Bobby Castelveter. Tim Folmer and Jason Rider won the heats.


The Pure Stocks saw Baldwin PA’s Joe Anthony take the win. Anthony started in the 9th spot and moved ahead after a duel with race leader Jeff Broniszewski and Nick Kocuba. Craig Kamicker, Broniszewski, Kocuba, Aaron Jones, Bill Robertson, Darryl Robison, Charlie DiLoreto, Bob Schwartzmiller, and A.J. Poljak. The heats saw Robertson and Anthony take wins. Anthony was the hard charger.


Kurt Halbedl (driving the Joel Johns #M5), and Wayne Tessean started on the front row of the E-mod feature. After a couple false starts the green was thrown, and Tessean and Halbedl tangled on the front straight. Halbedl collected the front wall. Several others were collected in the resulting crash. On the restart Tessean grabbed the lead and drove away from the field. It was his 59th career PPMS win. Cody Barack drove a strong race to get a career best second, followed by Mike Basich, Chris Basich, and J.E. Stalder, (who came from the tail after the first lap wreck). The rest of the top ten included, Tom Martineck, Dennis Neiderriter, Mitch Basich, Kevin Miller, and Bruce Dreistadt. Barack and Stalder took the heats.


     The Amateur Stocks saw Pittsburgh’s Eric Goldberg take a career second win. Goldberg took the lead off top runner Robby Torrens on lap 6 and held Torrens off the rest of the way. John Chipps Jr. was third followed by Rich Gorsuch, Adam Chytil, Todd Evans, Darren Ferguson, Terry Kerr, and Davy Lee. Torrens won the heat.



 Todd Janas, Robinson PA won the Young Gun main, over Dusty Curry and Rich Mason III.




Late Models:

Heat Race Winners:  Lou Bradich, Mark Banal

Feature (25 Laps):  1) Mark Banal, 2) Lynn Geisler,  3) Michael Davis, 4) Scott Gunn, 5) Mike Johnson,  6) Jared Miley,  7) Tim Gould,  8) John Mollick, 9) Dave Wade, 10)  Ben Miley, 11)  Lou Bradich, 12) Keith Rodriguez, 13) Tony Musolino, 14) Rich Apolito, 15)  Brandon Burgoon, 16) Jim Arcuragi, 17)  Bob Moskey, 18) Jim Stephens DNS.


Advance Auto Parts Crate Late Models:

Heat Race Winners:  Tim Folmer, Jason Rider

Feature (20 Laps):  1) Pete Loria  2) Mike Cecere, 3)  Kirk Young,  4) Ray Brown,  5) Laura Lukon, 6) John  Cain III, 7) Bryan Hoffman, 8) Nick Duratz, 9) Larry Marks, 10) Bobby Castelveter, 11)  Pete Rech, 12) Kyle Lukon, 13) Tim Folmer, 14) Wes Wheeler 15) Jason Rider, 16) Mark Moats Jr.


Pure Stocks:

Heat Race Winners:  Bill Robertson, Joe Anthony

Feature (15 Laps):   1) Joe Anthony, 2) Craig Kamicker, 3) Jeff Broniszewski, 4) Nick Kocuba, 5) Aaron Jones, 6) Bill Robertson, 7) Darryl Robison, 8) Charlie DiLoreto, 9)  Bob Schwartzmiller, 10) A.J. Poljak, 11) Pat Weldon, 12) Ron O’Patchen, 13) Mitch Wattalet, 14) James Wagner, 15) Jake Simmons, 16) Craig Koteles.



Heat Race Winners:  Cody Barack, J. E. Stalder

Feature (15 Laps):  1) Wayne Tessean  2) Cody Barack, 3) Mike Basich, 4) Chris Basich, 5) J.E. Stalder, 6) Tom Martineck, 7) Dennis Neiderriter, 8) Mitch Basich, 9) Kevin Miller, 10) Bruce Dreistadt, 11) Clayton Kennedy, 12) Mike McKee, 13) Kurt Halbedl, 14)  Bill Westlake, 15) Denny Nakutis,16) David Mercer, 17) Daryl Charlier, 18) Chuck Kennedy DNS.


Amateur Stocks:

Heat Race Winner:  Robby Torrens

Feature (12 Laps):   1) Eric Goldberg,  2) Robby Torrens, 3) John Chipps Jr., 4) Rich Gorsuch, 5) Adam Chytil, 6) Todd Evans,7) Darren Ferguson,  8) Terry Kerr, 9) Davy Lee, 10) Frank Piccolino DNS, 11) Jason Herniak DNS.


Young Guns:

Feature:   1) Todd Janas, 2) Dusty Curry, 3)  Rich Mason III