Media Contact:  Judy Gower  724-853-7223   jdgocar@aol.com
Story Content provided by John Stasiak
May 14, 2006



Michael Davis and Jason Rider Win Career Firsts at Pittsburgh



Pittsburgh, PA (May 13, 2006) - Michael Davis, Rayland OH won his first career Late Model feature Saturday night at Pittsburgh’s PA Motor Speedway. Davis, in his third season in the Late Models, has been a surprise this season, running up front in every feature at the track so far this season. Davis took advantage of a front row starting spot, got the jump at the green and opened up a big lead. While Davis controlled the top spot for the first half of the event, a battle ensued for the rest of the top five. A restart on lap 12 tightened the field. Davis again held the lead while World of Outlaw star Josh Richards, (from 7th) moved into second, with Lou Bradich in third and Steve Baker taking over the fourth spot. Richards, who came in after a rainout on the tour in IL, slowly reeled in Davis, but ran out of time. Davis took the win, while Richards was second, with Bradich, (from 11th, and the hard charger) and Baker, (from 9th), right behind and Dave Wade in for fifth, (up from 12th). Rounding out the top ten were Mike Johnson, Ben Miley, Mark Banal, Rich Apolito, and Bob Williams. Bradich and Miley took the heat wins. Lynn Geisler, started 16, (after heat race problems), and was on the move, up to sixth when engine problems set in. Richards, Mark Moats, and Jim Lepro made their first starts of the season. Defending champ John Flinner was back in action, after missing the last three weeks.


Top rookie, Jason Rider, Clinton PA, took the top spot in the Advance Auto Parts Crate Late Models, for his career first win. Rider, in only his fifth race, drove by early leader Larry Marks on lap 5 and never looked back. Another rookie, Kyle Lukon in his fifth career start, ran a heads up race to finish second his career best, followed by Bruce Takach in his best career run in third. Kirk Young moved up for fourth, followed by hard charger Ray Brown, Mike Cecere, Marks, Nick Duratz, Tim Folmer, and Pete Rech. Takach and Rider picked up the heat wins.


Nearby McDonald PA’s, Dennis Niederriter picked up his first win of the season in the E-Mods. Not to be out done by the first two classes, Niederriter, Kevin Miller, and Tom Martineck battled the entire distance for the top spot. Miller ended up second, (after actually leading the next to last lap at the flag), with Martineck in third. Hard Charger Chris Basich was a strong fourth followed by Cody Barack, Daryl Charlier, Mike Basich, Wayne Tessean, J.E. Stalder, and Russ Dunn to round out the top ten. Charlier and Tessean took the heat victories.


Charlie DiLoreto from South Fayette, PA picked up his first win of the season in the Pure Stocks. DiLoreto grabbed the lead at the outset, and never looked back. Craig Kamicker charged from 10th to finish second and garner the hard charger award. Nick Kocuba was third followed by Aaron Jones, Jeff Broniszewski, Joe Anthony, Daryl Robison, Ron O’Patchen, Jake Simmons, and Bill Robertson completing the top ten. Broniszewski and Anthony copped heat wins.


McDonald PA’s Adam Chytil grabbed his third win in the Amateur Stocks, after a race long battle with Gary Koteles and Eric Goldberg. Todd Evans was fourth, followed by Rich Gorsuch, Robby Torrens, Richie Cooper, and Davy Lee. Torrens took the lone heat win.


For the third time this season, Rich Mason took the Young Gun class, over Dusty Curry and newcomer Steve Raso.



Pittsburgh’s PA Motor Speedway May 13 Race Results

Late Models:

Heat Race Winners:  Lou Bradich, Ben Miley

Feature (25 Laps)  - 1. Michael Davis 2. Josh Richards 3. Lou Bradich 4. Steve Baker 5. Dave Wade 6. Mike Johnson 7. Ben Miley 8. Mark Banal 9. Rich Apolito 10. Bob Williams 11. John Flinner 12. Brandon Burgoon 13. Keith Rodriguez 14. Darrin Miller 15. Jared Miley 16. Tim Gould 17. Rick Heim 18. Scott Gunn 19. Jim Lepro 20. Mark Moats 21. Keith Barbara 22. Lynn Geisler.


Advance Auto Parts Crate Late Models:

Heat Race Winners:  Bruce Takach, Jason Rider

Feature (20 Laps) - 1. Jason Rider 2. Kyle Lukon 3. Bruce Takach 4. Kirk Young 5. Ray Brown 6.Mike Cecere 7. Larry Marks 8. Nick Duratz 9. Tim Folmer 10. Pete Rech 11. Bobby Castelveter 12. John Cain 13. Laura Lukon 14. Wes Wheeler 15. Mark Moats Jr. 16. Jim Moore. 17. John Hobbs.



Heat Race Winners:  Daryl Charlier, Wayne Tessean

Feature (15 Laps)  - 1. Dennis Niederriter 2. Kevin Miller 3. Tom Martinek 4. Chris Basich 5. Cody Barack 6. Daryl Charlier 7.  Mike Basich 8. Wayne Tessean 9. J. E. Stalder 10. Russ Dunn 11. Shawn Domhoff 12. Mike McKee 13. Clayton Kennedy 14. J. J. Bametzrieder 15. David Mercer 16. Joe Pemberton 17. Joel Johns 18. Jim Plance. 


Pure Stocks

Heat Race Winners:   Jeff Broniszewski, Joe Anthony

Feature (15 Laps) - 1. Charlie DiLoreto 2. Craig Kamicker 3. Nick Kocuba 4. Aaron Jones 5. Jeff Broniszewski 6. Joe Anthony 7. Darryl Robison 8. Ron O’Patchen 9. Jake Simmons 10. Bill Robertson 11. Bob Schwartzmiller 12. A. J. Poljak 13. Drew Koteles 14. Jim Wagner


Amateur Stocks

Heat Race Winner:  Robby Torrens

Feature (12 Laps)  - 1. Adam Chytil 2. Gary Koteles 3. Eric Goldberg 4. Todd Evans 5. Rick Gorsuch 6. Robby Torrens 7. Rich Cooper 8. Davy Lee. 

Heat - Torrens


Young Guns

Feature - 1. Rich Mason 2. Dusty Curry 3. Steve Raso