Media Contact:  Judy Gower  724-853-7223,  jdgocar@aol.com

Story Content Provided by John Stasiak

June 18, 2006


Davis and Niederriter take second wins, Curry, Schirnhofer, Broniszewski, Lee, Chytil also win at Pittsburgh.


PITTSBURGH, PA (June 17, 2006) - Action was hot on a hot Saturday night at Pittsburgh’s PA Motor Speedway for Advance Auto Parts night with Mike Davis, Rayland OH winning the Late Model feature, Tom Schirnhofer Jr., Dormont PA, winning his first Advance Auto Parts Crate Late Model feature of the season. While in the Lincoln Welder E-Mods Dennis Niederriter, McDonald PA took the win, and in the WBGN Pure Stocks saw Jeff Broniszewski, Coraopolis PA win. Adam Chytil, McDonald PA took the Amateur Stocks main, while Dusty Curry, Dormont, PA took the measure of the Young Guns. Davy Lee, Independence PA took a controversial win in the Pittsburgh Circle Track Old Timers Series.


    In the 25 lap Late Model main, Mike Davis used a front row starting spot to pick up his second win of the season. Rich Apolito and Davis led the field down for the start with Davis grabbing the lead at the outset. Al Atallah, making his second start of the season, moved into second. Meanwhile, 10th starting Lynn Geisler made his way thru the field. Geisler got by Atallah on lap 15 for second, and set sail for Davis. Geisler slowly reeled him in, but Davis was not to be denied. Eighth starting Scott Gunn made a charge thru the field after half way to finish a close third, followed by Ben Miley, Jared Miley, Atallah, Jim Zarin,(in the Keith Rodriguez #29) Brandon Burgoon (back after a several week layoff, due to injuries suffered in a highway accident) Rick Heim and Dave Wade. Jim Zarin and Lynn Geisler won the heats. Point leader Lou Bradich suffered a broken drive shaft while running fifth and was the first car out of the event.


     The Advance Auto Parts Crate Late Models, Tom Schirnoffer Jr. took his first win of the season and third career win in the 20 lap feature. Schirnoffer took the lead on the second lap off John Cain and led point leader and fellow crate engine runner Jason Rider to take the win. Jim Zarin (again in the Castelvetter #27) ran third with Nick Duratz in fourth and Ray Brown in fifth. Tim Folmer ended up sixth, followed by Kirk Young, Pete Rech, Bruce Takach, and Kyle Lukon. Kyle Lukon and Jim Zarin picked up the heat wins.


     Dennis Niederriter took his second Lincoln Welder E-Mod win in fine style. Niederriter grabbed the lead at the outset, but Kevin Miller and Shawn Domhoff had different ideas. For a good bit of the 15 lap main, Niederriter had things well under control, but a series of late race cautions bunched the field up. Miller and Domhoff put the pressure on Niederriter, with Miller actually getting by on lap 13. On the last lap, both Miller and Domhoff put pressure on Niederriter but he was up to the task, winning an exciting race. Miller ended up second with Domhoff in third, while 14th starting Wayne Tessean took fourth and 24th starting Daryl Charlier in fifth. Rounding out the rest of the top ten finishers were Chris Basich, Kari Gasser, Stush Sadowski, Bill Westlake, and Bruce Dreistadt. In the three heat races, Kari Gasser, Chris Basich, and brother Mike Basich picked up victories. Point leader Mike Basich suffered a flat and dropped out of the feature event.


     The WBGN Pure Stocks saw Jeff Broniszewski take his third win of the season. Broniszewski had things under control from the start, but the real battle was behind him for second thru fifth. Last week’s winner, and 12th starting Jake Simmons took a strong second followed by Aaron Jones, Craig Kamicker, and Bill Robertson. Rounding out the top 10 were Joe Anthony, Nick Kocuba, Shawn Bryan, Ron O’Patchen, and Bob Schwartzmiller. The two heats saw Ron O’Patchen and Bill Robertson take the wins.


     In the exciting Amateur Stock feature, Adam Chytil grabbed the lead in a late race effort over point leader Robby Torrens. Torrens grabbed the lead early in the event and looked to be on cruise control, but a mid race caution closed the field and put Chytil right behind. Chytil made his move with two to go, running a low line and took the win. Eric Goldberg finished third followed by Davy Lee, Gary Koteles, Travis Gatten, Todd Evans, Darren Ferguson, Richie Cooper, and Terry Kerr. Adam Chytil and RobbyTorrens also took the heat wins.


    The Young Gun main saw Dusty Curry finally end his bridesmaid roll and pick up his first win of the season. Curry took the lead from #88, and held off six time winner Rich Mason and to pick up the win. The win by Curry ended Mason’s 5 race win streak. Todd Janus was third, followed by Nick Johnson, Sara Schrum, and Tyler Fox.


The Pittsburgh Circle Track Old Timers were last on the card, with Davy Lee winning the 12 lap main. It was originally thought, former modified runner, Estle Harp was driving the Lee #96 Amateur Stock, but in victory lane it was discovered Lee was driving. It is unknown if the PCTC will let the win stand. Fred Casagni was second. Joe Betz took the lone heat.





Heats – Jim Zarin and Lynn Geisler

Feature (25 Laps) – 1. Michael Davis, 2. Lynn Geisler, 3. Scott Gunn 4. Ben Miley, 5. Jared Miley, 6. Al Atallah 7. Jim Zarin, 8. Brandon Burgoon, 9. Rick Heim, 10. Dave Wade, 11. Jim Stephens, 12. Tony Musolino, 13. Rich Apolito, 14. Danny Rich, 15. Jim Lepro, 16. Gary Knollinger, 17.Chris Angelicchio, 18. Bob Williams, 19. Lou Bradich



Heats – Kyle Lukon and Jim Zarin

Feature (20 Laps) – 1. Tom Schirnhofer, 2.Jason Rider, 3.Jim Zarin, 4. Nick Duratz, 5. Ray Brown, 6. Kirk Young, 7. Tim Folmer, 8. Pete Rech, 9. Bruce Takach, 10. Kyle Lukon, 11. John Cain, 12. Jim Moore, 13.Mark Moats Jr. 14. Laura Lukon, 15.  Dr. John Hobbs, 16. Bryan Hoffman



Heats – Kari Gasser, Chris Basich, and Mike Basich

Feature (15 Laps) – 1. Dennis Niederriter, 2. Kevin Miller, 3. Shawn Domhoff, 4. Wayne Tessean, 5. Daryl Charlier, 6. Chris Basich, 7. Kari Gasser, 8. Stush Sadowski, 9. Bill Westlake, 10. Bruce Dreistadt, 11. Tom Martineck, 12. Russell Dempsey, 13. J.E. Stalder, 14. Michael Samuelson, 15. Denny Nakutis, 16. Jim Plance, 17. Vince Laboon, 18. Dale Charlier, 19. Herm Myers, 20. Mike McKee, 21. Howard Fraley, 22. Joel Johns, 23. Mike Basich, 24. Jim Petrelle, 25. Joe Pemberton, 26. David Mercer (DNS)




Heats – Ron O’Patchen and Bill Robertson

Feature (15 Laps) – 1. Jeff Broniszewski, 2. Jake Simmons, 3. Aaron Jones, 4. Craig Kamicker, 5. Bill Robertson, 6. Joe Anthony, 7. Nick Kocuba, 8. Shawn Bryan, 9. Ron O’Patchen, 10. Bob Schwartzmiller, 11. Vince Kamicker, 12 Don Bauerle, 13. Mitch Wattalet, 14. James Wagner, 15. Mike Harris.



Heats – Adam Chytil and Robby Torrens

Feature (12 Laps) – 1. Adam Chytil, 2. Robby Torrens, 3. Eric Goldberg, 4. Davy Lee, 5. Gary Koteles, 6. Travis Gatten, 7. Todd Evans, 8. Darrin Ferguson, 9. Richie Cooper, 10.Terry Kerr, 11. Jason Herniak, 12. Rick Gorsuch, 13. Frank Piccolino, (DNS) 14. Butch Levandosky, (DNS).



Feature (5 Laps) – 1. Dusty Curry, 2. Rich Mason, 3. Todd Janus, 4. Nick Johnson, 5. Sarah Schrum, 6. Steve Raso, 7.Tyler Fox