Media contact:  Judy Gower  724-853-7223  jdgocar@aol.com

Story content provided by John Stasiak

July 2, 2006


Bradich continues dream season, winning sixth, Tessean wins E-Mod special, Cecere, Simmons, Torrens, and Curry repeat at PPMS.


PITTSBURGH, PA (July 1) - Lou Bradich Chester, WV took his 6th Late Model feature to continue his dream season. Mike Cecere Baldwin, PA won his 3rd Advance Auto Parts Crate Late Models, and Austintown, OH’s took his 4th Lincoln Welder E-Mod feature in the E-Mod special. Jake Simmons McKees Rocks, PA grabbed his 3rd win in five shows in the WBGN Pure Stocks, Robby Torrens Kennedy Twp., PA earned a tough victory in the Amateur Stocks.  Dusty Curry Dormont, PA continued his hot streak in the Young Guns taking his third win in a row.


    Lou Bradich used a rare front row start to grab his sixth win of the season, however it wasn’t an easy win as he held off Dave Wade for his 29th career PPMS Late Model win. Bradich grabbed the lead at the start, while Wade moved into second on lap 7. Wade, who seemed to be slightly faster than Bradich during the event, pulled even several times, but Bradich made good use of the middle groove and traffic to keep him at bay. Meanwhile an intense battle for third between Mike Davis and Steve Baker also kept the fans on their feet, as the pair raced side by side for a good portion of the race. At the finish it was Bradich, Wade, Davis, Baker, Jared Miley, last week’s winner Lynn Geisler, Scott Gunn, Jim Stephens, Ben Miley, and Keith Rodriguez. Lou Bradich and Lynn Geisler took the heat wins.


     Mike Cecere took the measure of the Advance Auto Parts Crate Late Models, for his third win of 2006. Nick Jones (in the Castelveter #27) led the first lap, then rookie Kyle Lukon took over. Jones motor expired bringing out the first of several yellows. Tom Schirnoffer Jr. took the point and pulled away from the field. At one point Schirnoffer had a half lap lead, unfortunately for him a couple late race cautions changed all that. For Cecere, he moved past Lukon following a lap 14 restart, then took the lead on after a lap 15 restart. Cecere was never seriously challenged after that. Schirnoffer was second, with Pete Rech in third followed by Tim Folmer, Jim Moore, Larry Marks, John Cain, John Hobbs, and Mark Moats Jr. Kyle Lukon was running third was eliminated in a crash with fourth running Ray Brown. Jason Rider and Mike Cecere won the two heats.


    Wayne Tessean added to his point lead by grabbing his 62nd career Lincoln Welder E-Mod feature in this special event. Kevin Miller, back from his hard crash last week, led the early laps, and got replaced by Mike Basich. Basich led the next two laps then Tessean took over. Tessean then pulled away for the win. Mike Basich finished second, followed by Chris Basich, Miller, Chuck Kennedy, Daryl Charlier, J.E. Stalder (who recovered from an early spin), Tom Martineck, Dennis Niederriter, and Dale Charlier.

Rick Meglaye, Wayne Tessean and Dennis Niederriter took the three heat races.


          In the WBGN Pure Stocks, Jake Simmons took the lead at the outset and stormed to the win. Jeff Broniszewski finished second followed by Craig Kamicker, Bill Robertson, Joe Anthony, Aaron Jones, Daryl Robison, Nick Kocuba, Charlie DiLoretto, Vince Kamicker and Don Bauerle. The heats saw Jake Simmons and Joe Anthony take victories.


     Robby Torrens took his third win in the Amateur Stocks after a battle with Davy Lee. Eric Goldberg ran third followed by Adam Chytil, Todd Evans, Rick Gorsuch, Jason Herniak, Rich Cooper, and Gary Koteles. Robby Torrens also won the heat.


    Dusty Curry continued has his hot streak in the Young Guns winning his third in four events. Curry took the lead off Todd Janus and held off Rich Mason for the win. Janus was third with Nick Johnson and Tyler Fox trailing.




Late Models

Heats – Lou Bradich and Lynn Geisler

Feature (25 Laps) – 1. Lou Bradich, 2. Dave Wade, 3. Michael Davis, 4. Steve Baker, 5. Jared Miley, 6. Lynn Geisler, 7. Scott Gunn, 8. Jimmy Stephans, 9. Ben Miley, 10. Keith Rodriguez, 11. Rick Heim, 12. Danny Rich, 13. Chris Angelicchio, 14. Brandon Burgoon, 15. Tim Gould, 16. Jim Lepro, 17. Rich Apolito, 18. Gary Knollinger, 19. Bob Williams 20. Mike Johnson


Crate Late Models

Heats – Jason Rider and Mike Cecere

Feature (20 Laps) – 1. Mike Cecere, 2. Tommy Schirnhofer, 3. Pete Rech, 4. Tim Folmer, 5. Jim Moore, 6. Jason Rider, 7. Larry Marks, 8. John Cain, 9. John Hobbs, 10. Mark Moats, 11. Leo Stadelman. 12. Nick Duratz, 13. Bryan Hoffman, 14. Laura Lukon, 15. Ray Brown, 16. Kyle Lukon, 17. Pete Loria, 18. Nick Jones


Lincoln Welder E- Modifieds

Heats – Rick Meglaye, Wayne Tessean and Dennis Niederriter

Feature (15 Laps) – 1. Wayne Tessean, 2. Mike Basich, 3. Chris Basich, 4. Kevin Miller, 5. Chuck Kennedy, 6. Daryl Charlier, 7. J. E. Stalder, 8. Tom Martineck, 9. Dennis Niederriter, 10. Dale Charlier, 11. Kari Gasser, 12. Mike McKee, 13. Denny Nakutis, 14. Stush Sadowski, 15. Joe Betz, 16. Vince Laboon, 17. David Mercer, 18. Andre Layfield, 19. Jim Plance, 20. Joe Pemberton, 21. Herm Myers, 22. Rick Meglaye, 23. Joel Johns, 24. Willy Briggs (DNS)


WBGN-TV Pure Stocks

Heats – Jake Simmons and Joe Anthony

Feature (15 Laps) – 1. Jake Simmons, 2. Jeff Broniszewski, 3. Craig Kamicker, 4. Bill Robertson, 5. Joe Anthony, 6. Aaron Jones, 7. Darryl Robison, 8. Nick Kocuba, 9. Charlie DiLoreto, 10. Vince Kamicker, 11. Don Bauerle, 12. Mike Harris, 13. Joe Hackimer, 14. Jim Wagner, 15. Russ Volponi, 16. Shawn Bryan, 17. Bob Schwartzmiller, 18. A. J. Poljak


Amateur Stocks

Heat – Robbie Torrens

Feature (12 Laps) – 1. Robby Torrens, 2. Davy Lee, 3. Eric Goldberg, 4. Adam Chytil, 5. Todd Evans, 6. Rick Gorsuch, 7. Jason Herniak, 8. Rich Cooper, 9. Gary Koteles, 10.  Terry Kerr (DNS)


Young Guns

Feature (5 Laps) – 1. Dusty Curry, 2. Rich Mason, 3. Todd Janus, 4. Nick Johnson, 5. Tyler Fox