Media Contact:  Judy Gower  724-853-7223  jdgocar@aol.com

Story Content Provided by John Stasiak

July 16, 2006


Baker, Rech, Charlier, Kamicker, Torrens and Johnson all take wins at PPMS.


PITTSBURGH, PA (July 15, 2006) - Fairmont WV’s Steve Baker grabbed his second win of the season in the Late Models. Brandon Burgoon and Rich Apolito brought the field down for the start of the 25 lapper. On the start of the race in between turns one and two, Mike Davis slid into Rich Apolito and triggered a multi car wreck that eliminated Apolito and Keith Rodriguez plus damaged the cars of last weeks winner Ben Miley, Scott Gunn, Mike Norris and Tony Musolino who were able to continue. On the restart 9th starting Baker picked his way thru the field using the high line, living up to his name the “West Virginia Rim Rider”. He passed Mark Banal (in the Bob Williams #8) for third on lap 8 and also got by second running Mike Davis on the same lap, and then ran down leader Mike Johnson at the halfway point. Baker pulled away for the win.  Johnson had his best run of the season to finish second, with Lynn Geisler in third. Mike Davis was fourth and Banal in fifth. Ed Ferree, making his first start of the season, was sixth followed by Tony Musolino, Scott Gunn, Brandon Burgoon, and Ben Miley. Ed Ferree and Scott Gunn took the heat races.


In the Advance Auto Parts Crate Late Models, Castle Shannon, PA’s Pete Rech won his third feature of the season. Rech took the lead on lap 4, and avoided the wrecks and held off a strong late race challenge by Neil Isiminger (in the Laura Lukon  #04) to take the win. Kyle Lukon had a strong run to finish third, followed by Mike Cecere, Bruce Takach, Leo Stadelman, Tom Schirnoffer Jr., John Hobbs, Larry Marks, and John Cain.  A hard crash eliminated point leader Jason Rider and Tim Folmer.  The heats fell to Mike Cecere and Larry Marks.


The WBGN Pure Stocks saw Craig Kamicker Hopewell, PA drive to his fifth win in another great race. A.J. Poljak was the early leader, and was overhauled by Jeff Broniszewski on lap 4. Broniszewski led until lap 12 when Kamicker took over until the checker. Broniszewski took second followed by Charlie DiLoreto, Joe Anthony, Nick Kocuba, Ron O’Patchen, Bill Robertson, Aaron Jones, Poljak, and Bob Schwartzmiller. The two heats saw Nick Kocuba and Craig Kamicker take the victories.


 In the Lincoln Welder E-Mods Daryl Charlier Midway, PA took his second win of 2006 in exciting fashion. Charlier took the lead on the start and had a fair lead for most of the event, until a late race caution put last Sunday’s winner Kevin Miller and Wayne Tessean on his tail. The trio raced hard the final laps, with Miller pulling ahead at the white flag. Charlier charged back and beat Miller to the line, with Tessean right behind. Kari Gasser was fourth, followed by Dale Charlier. The rest of the top ten included Russ Matejka (in his first start of the season), Shawn Domhoff, Chuck Kennedy, Tom Martineck, and Mike Basich. Wayne Tessean and Shawn Domhoff grabbed the heats.


Robby Torrens, Robinson Twp., PA took his fourth win of the season in the Amateur Stocks. Torrens took the lead off Eric Goldberg on lap 7 and led the remainder of the event. Goldberg and Adam Chytil tangled on lap ten, while battling for second, sending them both to the tail. Travis Gatten was second, followed by Rich Gorsuch, Josh Langer (in Davy Lee’s #96), Bill Tennant, J.J. O’Patchen, Chytil, Jason Herniak, Bud Sinclair and Goldberg. Josh Langer and Adam Chytil won the heat races.


The Young Gun Main saw Nick Johnson Toronto, OH win his second win of the season, over Rich Mason. Dusty Curry, Sara Schrum and Devin Tomei rounded out the top five.




Late Models

Heats – Ed Ferree and Scott Gunn

Feature (25 Laps) – 1. Steve Baker, 2. Mike Johnson, 3. Lynn Geisler, 4. Michael Davis, 5. Mark Banal, 6. Ed Ferree, 7. Tony Musolino, 8. Scott Gunn, 9. Brandon Burgoon, 10. Ben Miley, 11. Lou Bradich, 12. Dave Wade, 13. Jared Miley, 14. Mike Norris, 15. Rich Apolito, 16. Keith Rodriguez, 17. Rick Heim (DNS)


Advance Auto Parts Crate late Models

Heats – Mike Cecere and Larry Marks

Feature (20 Laps) – 1. Pete Rech, 2. Neal Isiminger, 3. Kyle Lukon, 4. Mike Cecere, 5. Bruce Takach, 6. Leo Stadelman, 7. Tom Schirnhofer, 8. John Hobbs, 9. Larry Marks, 10. John Cain, 11. Ray Brown, 12. Jim Arnold, 13. Bryan Hoffman, 14. Pete Loria, 15. Tim Folmer, 16. Jason Rider, 17. Nick Duratz, 18. Brad Westover, 19. Mark Moats


Lincoln Welder E-Modifieds

Heats – Wayne Tessean and Shawn Domhoff

Feature (15 Laps) – 1. Daryl Charlier, 2. Kevin Miller, 3. Wayne Tessean, 4. Kari Gasser, 5. Dale Charlier, 6. Russ Matejka, 7. Shawn Domhoff, 8. Chuck Kennedy, 9. Tom Martineck, 10. Mike Basich, 11. Herm Myers, 12. Mitch Basich, 13. Vince Laboon 14. Joel Johns, 15. Jim Plance, 16. Denny Nakutis, 17. Stush Sadowski, 18. David Mercer


WBGN-TV Pure Stocks

Heats – Nick Kocuba and Craig Kamicker

Feature (15 Laps) – 1. Craig Kamicker, 2. Jeff Broniszewski, 3. Charlie DiLoretto, 4. Joe Anthony, 5. Nick Kocuba, 6. Ron O’Patchen, 7. Bill Robertson, 8. Aaron Jones, 9. A. J. Poljak, 10. Bob Schwartzmiller, 11. Russ Volponi, 12. C. J. Morley, 13. Don Bauerle, 14. Mitch Wattalet


Amateur Stocks

Heats – Josh Langer and Adam Chytil

Feature (12 Laps) – 1. Robby Torrens, 2. Travis Gatten, 3. Rich Gorsuch, 4. Josh Langer, 5. Bill Tennant, 6. J. J. O’Patchen, 7. Adam Chytil, 8. Jason Herniak, 9. Bud Sinclair, 10. Eric Goldberg, 11. Todd Evans, 12. Terry Kerr, 13. Rich Cooper (DNS)


Young Guns

Feature (5 Laps) – 1. Nick Johnson, 2. Rich Mason, 3. Dusty Curry, 4. Sarah Schrum, 5. Devin Tomei