Media Contact:  Judy Gower  724-853-7223  jdgocar@aol.com

Story Content Provided by John Stasiak

August 27, 2006


Schirnhofer wins the Jook George Fall Classic, Wade, C. Basich, Robison, Gatten and Curry also take wins at Pittsburgh.


PITTSBURGH, PA (August 26, 2006) - Tommy Schirnhofer Jr. Dormont, PA grabbed his third win in row, and fourth overall of the season in the Advance Auto Parts Crate Late Model Annual Jook George Memorial Fall Classic. The start of the 25 lap feature started with a bang, as front row starter Jim Arnold got spun, and the following wreck included Drew Koteles, Bobby Castelveter, Jason Rider, Bryan Hoffman, Leo Stadelman, Mark Moats Jr., and Jim Moore. Arnold and Castelveter were not able to restart, while the rest were, with Brad Westover also not restarting. On the restart, Schirnhofer grabbed the lead, with Kyle Lukon in tow. Schirnhofer set a blistering pace, with Lukon the only one able to keep up, however he was 5-10 car length behind most of the event. Yellows on lap 3, 11, and 21 slowed the pace, but Schirnhofer blasted away on each restart. At the finish it was Schirnhofer, K. Lukon, Pete Rech, Mike Cecere, Ray Brown, Drew Koteles, Jason Rider, Laura Lukon, Moats Jr., and L. Stadelman. Tim Folmer finished third, but was D.Q.ed in the post race tech for running a magneto. Leo Stadelman and Ray Brown took the heats.


In the Late Models Dave Wade Clinton, PA took his third win of 2006 in a wild feature. Scott Gunn jumped into the early lead from his front row starting spot, with Nick Jones (in the Geisler #1C), Wade and Steve Baker right behind. The front four pulled away from the field and battled among themselves the first 16 laps. Gunn led, with Jones trying to get by, and Wade and Baker battling for third right behind. On lap 17, in turns three and four the intense, tight battle came to a head, when Jones trying to get by Gunn on the inside spun, and collected Baker who was on the high side trying to pass Wade. Baker was thru for the night, while Jones continued. On the restart Wade took the lead off Gunn, and was able to lead the rest of the distance unchallenged. Mike Johnson finished second, followed Jared Miley, Al Atallah, Lou Bradich, Gunn, Jim Stephans, Ben Miley, Chris Angelicchio, and Jones. Bob Williams, Mike Davis, and Tim Gould were involved in hard crashes in the heats and were unable to start the feature. Point leader Lou Bradich drove Dennis Neiderriter’s #68 in the heat (renumbered #09) when it was discovered that his own #09 had a broken rocker arm. It was discovered that was against the rules after the heats, so Neiderriter drove his own car in the feature, while Bradich chanced running his machine, and was rewarded with a fine fifth. Mike Johnson and Steve Baker took the two heat wins.


Darryl Robison S. Beaver Twp., PA took his second WBGN pure stock main. Robison took the lead at the outset and held off early charges from Nick Kocuba, and later charges from Jake Simmons. Simmons finished second, while 12th starting Craig Kamicker got third on the last lap. Kocuba, Jeff Broniszewski, Joe Anthony, Bob Schwartzmiller, Bill Robertson, Russ Volponi and James Wagner followed them. Bill Robertson and Craig Kamicker grabbed the heat victories.


In the Lincoln Welder E-Mods, Chris Basich Adena, Ohio took his second win of the season. Basich took the lead at the start and led the entire distance. Point leader Wayne Tessean closed the gap in the later stages of the event to finish second, followed by high riding Daryl Charlier, Mike Basich, Tom Martineck, Kari Gasser, Shawn Domhoff, Chuck Kennedy, Kevin Miller and Jim Petrelle. The heats fell to Kevin Miller and Daryl Charlier.


In the Amateur Stocks, Travis Gatten Scenery Hill, PA drove to his first career win. Gatten, who had been running better and better in recent weeks, took the lead at the start and held off the ever-persistent Davy Lee to grab the win. Point leader Robby Torrens was right behind in third, followed by Eric Goldberg, Rick Gorsuch, Bill Tennant, Derek Stefanick, Jarrod Weiland, Terry Kerr, and Rich Cooper. The heats were won by Travis Gatten and Davy Lee.


Dormont, PA’s Dusty Curry took his seventh Young Guns win. Curry took the lead at the start and stormed to the win, ending Sarah Schrum’s win streak at two. Schrum finished second, followed by Rich Mason, Devin Tomei, Todd Janus, Nick Johnson, and Tyler Fox.





Heats – Mike Johnson and Steve Baker

Feature (25 Laps) – 1. Dave Wade, 2. Mike Johnson, 3. Jared Miley, 4. Al Atallah, 5. Lou Bradich, 6. Scott Gunn, 7. Jim Stephans, 8. Ben Miley, 9. Chris Angelicchio, 10. Nick Jones, 11. Keith Rodriguez, 12. Brandon Burgoon, 13. Dennis Niederriter, 14. Bob Moskey, 15. Matt Flesher, 16. Butch D’Antonio, 17. Steve Baker, 18. Michael Davis (DNS), 19. Tim Gould (DNS), 20. Bob Williams (DNS)


CRATE LATE MODELS – Jook George Fall Classic

Heats – Leo Stadelman and Ray Brown

Feature (25 Laps) – 1. Tom Schirnhofer, 2. Kyle Lukon, 3. Pete Rech, 4. Mike Cecere, 5. Ray Brown, 6. Drew Koteles, 7. Jason Rider, 8. Laura Lukon, 9. Mark Moats, 10. Leo Stadelman, 11. Scott Wilhelm, 12. Larry Marks, 13. Jon Hodgkiss, 14. Bryan Hoffman, 15. Pete Loria, 16. Jim Moore, 17. Brad Westover, 18. Jim Arnold, 19. Bobby Castleveter, 20. Tim Folmer (DQ)



Heats – Kevin Miller and Daryl Charlier

Feature (15 Laps) – 1. Chris Basich, 2. Wayne Tessean, 3. Daryl Charlier, 4. Mike Basich, 5. Tom Martineck, 6. Kari Gasser, 7. Shawn Domhoff, 8. Chuck Kennedy, 9. Kevin Miller, 10. Jimmy Petrelle, 11. Stush Sadowski, 12. Herm Myers, 13. Clayton Kennedy, 14. David Mercer, 15. Joe Betz



Heats – Bill Robertson and Craig Kamicker

Feature (15 Laps) – 1. Darryl Robison, 2. Jake Simmons, 3. Craig Kamicker, 4. Nick Kocuba, 5. Jeff Broniszewski, 6. Joe Anthony, 7. Bob Schwartzmiller, 8. Bill Robertson, 9. Russ Volponi, 10. James Wagner, 11. A. J. Poljak, 12. Aaron Jones, 13. Vince Kamicker



Heats – 1. Travis Gatten and Davy Lee

Feature (12 Laps) – 1. Travis Gatten, 2. Davy Lee, 3. Robby Torrens, 4. Eric Goldberg, 5. Rick Gorsuch, 6. Bill Tennant, 7. Derek Stefanick, 8. Jarrod Weiland, 9. Terry Kerr, 10. Rich Cooper, 11. John Hatlas, 12. Jim Mayor, 13. Adam Chytil



Feature (6 Laps) – 1. Dusty Curry, 2. Sarah Schrum, 3. Rich Mason, 4. Devin Tomei, 5. Todd Janus, 6. Nick Johnson, 7. Tyler Fox